LS 589- Hoopla

Hoopla (http://hoopladigital.com) is an online streaming service for libraries that allows patrons to create a user account to borrow streaming or downloadable content on their own devices. Hoopla contains ebooks, audiobooks, comics/graphic novels, TV shows, movies, and full music albums.

I’ve been using Hoopla since my consortium subscribed to it a couple of years ago. At first, I was unimpressed with the content, with the exception of the variety of audiobooks. I thought it was really cool that I could borrow classic novels with a variety of different narrators- if I didn’t like one narrator, I could try the book with another. The collection itself has immensely improved over time though. The graphic novel options are varied and wonderful; they’re also easy and fun to read using the app on an android/iOS device because you can zoom into the individual cells when reading. I’ve also grown very impressed with the music album collections. Often, Hoopla has brand new titles the day the albums come out.

Speaking of improvements, just last week, Hoopla launched an updated version of their website, making it easier to browse and more user-friendly. This is the only streaming service that my library offers and I find it to be a valuable asset to our services.

For librarians:
Hoopla does not include a set-up or annual maintenance fee, nor does it require licensing fees. The library pays when patrons borrow content depending upon the titles. For those who are interested in the FAQs, they can visit this help link.

Leave a Reply

